22g Iwagumi / My First Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 6Likes
  • 10 Post By jdot
  • 2 Post By jdot

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-19-2016, 12:24 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
22g Iwagumi / My First Planted Tank

Hey! I should have posted this earlier in the process, but I'll fill this first post in with some of the details from my offline journal, then I'll try to keep this up to date going forward.

This is my first attempt at a [iwagumi] planted aquarium. I spent a lot of time researching, which seems to have paid off. Not that it's been easy, but I've been pleased with the results so far.

I don't know if this is high tech or low tech. Maybe it's somewhere in between ... mid tech? Hah

Current Setup:

• Mr. Aqua; 22 gallon; low iron; 36x12x12"; ADA mat
  • PetSmart / Marco 30 g stand
  • Satellite LED+ Plus "PRO" (important distinction there)
  • Eheim 2215 (350); ~163 gph
  • [ebay] lily pipes; acrylic!
  • Inline Hydor heater; 200 watts
  • Inkbird 306T thermostat
  • ADA Amazonia normal AND powder
  • [ebay] Seiryu stone
  • Pressurized CO2; GLA regulator, solenoid, bubble counter; GLA inline diffuser
  • GLA EI fertilizers
  • [ebay] drop checker; GLA indicator solution
  • Eleocharis sp. Mini; tissue culture; aquariumplants.com
  • Lilaeopsis Brasilensis; tissue culture; aquariumplants.com
  • 8 grade AA red cherry shrimp (+ ~10 babies); theshrimpfarm.com
  • ...Fish in a week or two

I played a lot on this cardboard that came with the aquarium (same dimensions). I marked thirds on the bottom and back for reference as I was placing things.

Then I kept playing with the hardscape arrangement in the aquarium as well. This is basically the final hardscape, minus a few tweaks.

Based on everything I saw and read, I was really trying to focus on thirds, a slope from front to back, the mid-ground, and good contrast among the rocks and between the hard and softscape.