30gal Planted (First tank ever ) 56k warning - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-02-2010, 07:49 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (7/100%)
Exclamation 30gal Planted (First tank ever ) 56k warning

Greetings Planted Tank.

I have been lurking about the shadows unregistered for about 3 weeks now. I finally worked up the courage to go ahead and join and share my journey of a complete novice from start to finish.

I will be doing this with my brother and step father for a 3 pronged attack. I got the tank from a friend for free including stand and whats left of the eclipse hood.

GOAL: Create a minimalistic asymmetrical scape. I would like drift wood on one side with a lot of tall plants and then have it slope down to a carpet.

MATERIALS:
-Owned-
-30gal Tall glass rimmed tank
-Eclipse hood (missing all pieces except hinged doors and light strip, no filters)
-Black stand

-Plan on Purchasing-
-Eheim 2215 Can filter
-Jager or vistherm stealth heater 200w
-Flourite black sand substrate

-Plants-
-I dream of HC after all the awesome tanks i have seen but i dont think i am skilled enough yet.
-moss of various forms. I would like a moss wall too maybe.
-Dwarf Hairgrass
-Myrio (this is cool looking)
-prob will just end up with whatever at first tell i get established

-Live Stock-
-killifish (i like Fundulopanchax gardneri looks a lot)
-Rams of some sort ( i like the german blue and the gold, electric blue is nice but $$)
-couple otos
-snails
-shrimps (something colorful)
-open to anything else that is colorful

I am extremely open to suggestions on all equipment, plants and fish. This is my first time doing this. I am super excited!