10 Gallon Journal - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-30-2010, 10:20 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
10 Gallon Journal

Hello everyone,

I am new to planted tanks, and I just got my 10 gallon going about a week ago. This is the picture that I took right after the initial planting:

I have Eco Complete Substrate (just one bag) and 2 X 15 watt spiral CFL in the stock hood. I'm using Excel for Carbon and KNO3, KH2PO4, and Flourish for fertilizers. Also Equilibrium after weekly water change.

I have Java Fern and Java Moss tied down to the driftwood with thread. Other plants include Anubias nana, Crypt wendtii, Rotala indica, Hygrophila difformis, and Ludwigia repens. Got all plants from Aqua Botanic and all seemed to be in great shape except for the Java Moss for some reason. Will the java moss come back strong? I was hoping to have it completely covering my driftwood.

This is all I can do right now in my college dorm, but I'd love to hear any suggestions/advice on ways I can make this into a great aquascape without spending much more money. I've learned alot on these forums already so thank you all for getting me to where I am now!

Also, I'm planning to stock the tank eventually with boraras micros and amanos. Any other ideas for stocking? Am I asking for a lot of trouble if I stocked one nerite snail?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-30-2010, 01:53 PM
Banned

PTrader: (4/100%)
your java moss is fine...I bought 1 bag months ago from Taiwan (i think) and it arrived brown...used it anyway...and now I have enough to cover 5 baseball sized rocks and then some extra to fiddle around with (making trees in a 10gall)...

I dont think you can kill java moss short of dropping a nuclear bomb on it...just wait a month or so and youll have a nice thick green mat of the stuff...then remove it all (to remove the original brown) and retie everything and youll be fine