Naked Singularity - Pics 1-8-11 - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-27-2010, 02:44 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (4/100%)
Naked Singularity - Pics 1-8-11

Picture (because who reads past the pic, really?):

Short explanation of the name: I got sucked in!

Longer explanation (from Wikipedia):
In general relativity, a naked singularity is a gravitational singularity without an event horizon. The singularities inside black holes are always surrounded by an area which does not allow light to escape, and therefore cannot be directly observed. A naked singularity, by contrast, is observable from the outside.

History:
I'm a newb! I came into possession of a pair of goldfish in a vase and am rapidly getting sucked into this hobby. I have since discovered that I really like planted tanks, 10G is too small for a pair of goldfish and the fern on the right is not actually an aquatic plant . The fish are destined for my mother's goldfish pond, and the fern is coming out soon.

The tank is a 10G Top Fin from the local thrift store, with 2 10W CFLs. The Flourite, rock, Anubis and fern are from the LFS. I also got a bit impulsive and picked up a gold mystery snail from Petco while my wife was buying treats for the dog. I am running a DIY co2 setup with a handmade ladder diffuser which actually doesn't work well at all.

I have 3X Dwarf Hairgrass (Eleocharis acicularis), 3X Amazon Sword (Echinodorus bleheri) and a batch of 10 Corkscrew Vals (Vallisneria americana) from AquariumPlants that should be here day after tomorrow. I also ordered some of their TOTAL fertilizer pellets. Fingers Crossed.

Last edited by Robotguy; 01-09-2011 at 03:26 AM. Reason: Update title
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-27-2010, 05:45 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
TAKE THE ANUBIAS AND JAVAFERN OUT OF THE SUBSTRATE RIGHT AFTER THIS SENTENCE END!!!1!!!111!!!!!!