The Planted Tank Forum banner

Biomass - At Capacity or Not?

3K views 19 replies 9 participants last post by  ZuppaDePesce 
#1 ·
How can you tell when your tank is at it's Biomass capacity? Do the weekly nitrate levels tell us this?

I have a hunch I'm there due to the fact that I'm having a problem with high nitrates despite a heavy population of plants. I inject CO2 etc. so it's pretty lush! I'm starting my second year with a planted tank, so I'm still learning.

Rather than get into a description of whats in there, I've posted a picture of my 40 gallon breeder and will gladly answer whatever questions are posted to help me determine if I am at capacity, if necessary.

Attachments

See less See more
#4 · (Edited)
First of all, thank you for the replies!

There's probably more than 35 Tetra in there, including 4 new hatchlngs, three Amano Shrimp, two Ottos, two Plecos and one Bolivian Ram!

Ferts: 4 pumps of Easy Green once a week, 2 Seachem fert tabs in two spots once a month. As for feeding, it's TetraMin Plus trop flakes once a day - it's about 1/2 teaspoon . . . they feed in a frenzy and it's all gone in a minute or two.

CO2 Injected - pH @ 6.6 during the day - air pump at night with the pH going to 7.0 at night. KH4, GH 6-8, NO2 0, NO3 - Don't ask. However I've been doing 5 or 10 gallon water changes every few days since last month.

Filtration: Aquaclear-50 (layered from bottom to top) using the stock open-cell sponge, that blue/white filter pad material and some bio media and a Purigen satchel.

You can see a zucchini-round stuck on a plastic plant stand in the front left . . I started that yesterday as a treat.

#6 ·
High nitrates can indicate a variety of situations, not just a max bioload.

I think a better indication would be persistent ammonia. If you have zero ammonia, that would indicate a bioload that is below capacity, but having ammonia would suggest you are at or near maximum, especially if it increased with increasing bioload.

#7 ·