Fishless cycling question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-05-2016, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fishless cycling question

I am relatively new to the fishless cycling. I was old school in the past and cycled with fish. My fishless cycling went awesome with my 55 but now I am struggling with my 35 pentagon. It's been 3 weeks flooded and my nitrites have been sky high for about a week and a half. How much longer do y'all think it will take? ammonia is 0 nitrites are about 5.0 nitrates are starting to rise and are about 5. Temp is 80, pH 8.2 I have hornwart and hygro for plants right now. Will add more plants as soon as I get some better lighting. It's an odd shape so I am struggling to find a suitable light fixture. Planning to do dalmatian mollies. Any thoughts? Thanks!!

5 gal Betta, Anubias Nana, Bacopa, Java Fern and Left overs from the 55
55 gal 12 Black Skirts, 8 Lemon Tetras, 6 Neons, 2 Moonlight Gouramis, 1 Albino BN. Cabomba, Bacopa, Needle leaf ludwigia, Rotala rotundifolia, Anubias barteri, Java Moss, Banana Plants, Marimo Balls, Vallisneria, Water Wisteria, Dwarf Swords, Amazon Sword
35 pentagon Hornwort and Hygro, Still cycling
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-05-2016, 10:59 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
Any day now...you'll do your water check and suddenly nitrites will be 0 and nitrates will be high.I think it teaches us patience .

MTS? no,I just need one more tank...
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-05-2016, 11:07 PM
Algae Grower