4Likes
  • 6 Post By Diana
  • 2 Post By 58417

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-04-2016, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fertilizing. Too much info confusion.

I'm new to the high tech tank and this forum. I have in place a 100 gallon corner tank with a GLA regulator with an inline diffuser, Eco complete substrate and 2 160 kessel lights and freshwater orbit strip.
Right now I'm using Seachem liquid dosing. Flourish, iron and potassium with root tabs. I would like to switch over to dry ferts. There's so much product!! I'm totally confused as to what I need to use. I've read Tom Barr report and read and Watched everything out there. Any input as to what direction to go would be wonderful!!!
Thanks so... Theresa
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-05-2016, 01:25 AM
Planted Tank Guru

Plants need about a dozen elements to live. They use different elements in different amounts.
The elements they use the most of are hydrogen (H), oxygen (O) and carbon (C)
Some are already in the tank (hydrogen, oxygen).
You are adding carbon in the form of carbon dioxide.

The elements they use the next most are referred to as macros.
Nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P) and potassium (K).
Fish food can supply reasonable amounts of N and P for a low tech tank, but is somewhat low in potassium. None are in enough supply for a high tech tank (high light, CO2)

The elements the plants use in a mid-range amount are secondary.
Calcium (Ca), magnesium (Mg), sulfur (S)