testing water parameters - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-09-2010, 02:57 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)
testing water parameters

I'm completely new to all of this... aquariums, planted tanks, the forum, and probably anything else you can think of. But... I am excited to try and make it work!

The question in short: What water parameters do I need to test? If any? Any recommendations on types of tests to get? Strips? Drops? None of it is accurate anyways?

Details on my setup (if interested):
I have a 20g tall tank with Eco-Complete substrate, a half dozen cherry shrimp, and a few plants. The floating plants on top (sorry, don't know the name) are the only ones doing well. Baby tears and Myriophyllum are doing okay. The African water fern I got from a friend seems to have gone into dying stasis... it does not want to live, but hasn't decided to completely die yet. The Anacharis has been dying ever since I trimmed it (I didn't know that would happen!) The shrimp are doing great, and I'm starting to get some bright green algae growing in the substrate (joy). I am supplementing CO2 with a yeast/sugar mix, but the bubble rate seems kind of slow- 1 bubble every 5-8 seconds. The lighting level is high... 6500K fluorescent at 4 wpg. It has been set up for about 3 weeks.

So my thought was to test the water and find out what is going on in the tank and try to adjust things so they are better for the plants. I use tap water, so I know it is rather hard.

Recommendations on testing or how to improve the setup so the plants actually live are greatly appreciated...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-09-2010, 03:30 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)