Frustrated and in need of advice! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-05-2010, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (47/100%)
Unhappy Frustrated and in need of advice!

I'm new to the hobby (2 months), and I'm frustrated about the current state of my 3 planted tanks. I researched a lot but i can't seem to get my tanks balanced. I haven't updated any of my journals because I'm embarrassed about what my tanks look like! I hope that you can help me figure out what I'm doing wrong. Here are the tanks and parameters for each. I know it's a lot of info, but I'd really appreciate even any general advice from anyone. I know that I'll eventually have beautiful plant growth, but I'm frustrated at how long it's taking to get there. Thanks for reading!

Tank 1: 47 gallons, 48x13x18.5
Lighting: 2x54 watts T5HO
CO2: 2 bottles DIY, but pressurized set up is in the mail! Also excel.
Fertilization: half of what EI suggests, since I don't have pressurized CO2
pH 7.0 (before CO2 addition), KH 20 ppm, GH 200 ppm

Problems: green spot algae, diatoms, and see the picture below for hairy/fuzzy algae. Also, new plant growth is wonderful but the bottoms of the stems look ratty.

Tank 2: 5.5 gallons, 16x8x10
Lighting: 27 watt Hampton Bay desk lamp
CO2: none. I dose excel daily
Fertilization: half of what EI suggests
Water parameters approximately the same as the tank above.

Problems: green spot algae (really bad on the glass, and it's even on my marsilea minuta and anubias)

Tank 3: 26 gallons, 32x12x16
Lighting: 36 watts T5NO
CO2: 1 bottle DIY and excel
Fertilization: half of what EI suggests
Water parameters approximately the same as tank above.

Problems: green spot algae (mild), and an algae that looks like human hairs but green. They're sparse, but it's on many plants and a little bit on the glass.

It sounds like a catastrophe, I know. Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement