1Likes
  • 2 Post By PlantedRich

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-20-2015, 01:01 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Trying to understand PH help..

This is with API Master Test kit.
I'd been using strips but just got this so this is my first time using it.
SO my tank was 7.6 on the fw ph range..
so I tried the HIGH ph and it tested at 7.4 on it.
afterward.. I tested my tap water and it tested at 6.8i..

20g long with Otos, Corydoras Pygmaeus, RCS and Nerites

2.6 gal nano planted Sparkling gourami breeding tank

2 gal planted Betta Splendens tank

10 g planted with Sparkling Gourami fry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-20-2015, 02:04 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Okay, PH is one of those things that do get confusing. I'm not sure I fully understand it and I've been at it a long time. But the big thing is that it changes and it does read different at times. One big thing you've spotted is the way our hobby grade test kits leave some doubt. When you have colors printed on paper, there is room for error. When we look at those colors under different light it adds more room for error. Go to a store and look at a color under the store lights and then it may be different when we get it home.