• 4 Post By Diana
  • 2 Post By ichy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 03:11 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need advice and suggestions!

Hello All,

I am new to planted tank and looking for some advice on if my setup is correct. I have spent a lot of money in the past on plants from LFS and have unsuccessfully been able to keep the majority of them alive. Alot of my problem was my Severums in the tank. Those have been sold and looking to restock my plants for my new Leopard bush as of right now all I have are amazon swords and java ferns. As you can see in my pictures I have two different types of gravel in my 55g tank. I use the fluval 306 and 406 as filters and a finnex fuge ray planted plus and a beamworks led lights. I also utilize the fluval q2 air pump (is this wrong). I noticed some pictures dont have airstones ect. For plants I use just the seachem flourish. I don't reallywant to get into pumping co2 into my tank so looking for alternatives. Thanks for all your help and advice. Also, if anyone has suggestions on plants that are colorful and clean ie. not hornwort I don't like the mess. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2044.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	547858  

Name:	IMG_2045.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	547866  

Name:	IMG_2043.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	547874  

Last edited by Cbocko20; 11-21-2015 at 04:00 PM. Reason: Pictures inputed wrong
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 03:46 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Pics do not show up for me.

Airstones are not generally used in a planted tank because too much surface movement of the water tends to allow the CO2 to leave the tank. I think you have enough water movement with the two filters, as long as they are arranged correctly. Aim them to work together, to produce a smooth flow. Not pointed at each other to create turbulence.