fertilizer help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
fertilizer help

I am new to the dry macro fertilizer dosing (i have always done flourish 3x week but my plants are all showing major potassium deficiencies so i thought i would start dosing the macros)

I had a question about the dosing regimen. i have read through many pages already and know that for my 55 gal i should do the 50% WC, 1/2 tsp kno3 3x week, 1/8 tsp kh2po4 3x week, 1/8 tsp k2so4 3x week, and trace 3x week( flourish in my case).

i was wondering ( i hope this isn't a stupid question.) but can i dose less, say 1/8 tsp of kh2po4 and k2so4 ONCE a week, and keep the trace 3x week like i always have, and avoid the 50% weekly WC and just stick to my 20% weekly WC that i am currently accustomed to. Will i still get enough macros in my system to maintain a properly planted tank. it is just difficult for me to change out 25 gallons of water weekly!!! i dont know how you guys and gals do it on the bigger tanks..

thanks for your input!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 01:24 AM
tug
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)
Hi chris,
As I understand it, the levels you dose should stay the same, only the frequency is reduced. It gets tricky when CO2 levels are lower then 20 ppm and the tank isn't heavily planted. I hope someone can help. Did you ever go to pressurized CO2?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Roll Your Own.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-20-2009, 01:34 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower