Beginner here, need some tips on ferts. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-29-2015, 01:52 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Beginner here, need some tips on ferts.

Recently got my first planted tank going, so bare with me here. The basics are it's a 38G with an EcoComplete substrate and a Finnex 24/7+ light fixture. I don't have the specifics of the water on hand, but had it tested the other day and was told by numerous people that it was "good," so that shouldn't be a huge problem.

I've had mixed results with the plants I've ordered so far. I don't feel that looking too much into the specific plants is appropriate yet as its only been three weeks (tank was cycled before this) and I'm told plants can still be acclimating.

At the moment all I'm dosing is Excel daily and Flourish weekly. Through a couple other threads I've made about specific plants not doing so well, I've learned this might not be enough.

In simple terms, I'm not sure what products I should be looking to add or where I've possibly gone wrong. FWIW, I'm overwhelmed reading about CO2 systems so I'm not sure if that's feasible right now.

So yeah, just looking for some advice on properly getting started. I can provide more info on anything if required. Thanks everyone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-29-2015, 02:03 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

There are Micro and Macro fertilizers. Flourish provides mostly Micro and Excel is not a fert at all. It is a CO2 Source. Since you tank is cycled, you can add fish and that will provide some ferts. Otherwise you will have to supply the tank with Macro ferts. This can be done using Seachem line if you can spent a little more and do not want to get into dry ferts. They are Seachem Nitrogen, Pottasium and Phosphorous.

But if you are interested in dry ferts(cheaper) then there are few of them on this forum who can help you out.