Beginner here, what products should I be using? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-27-2015, 07:02 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Beginner here, what products should I be using?

Hi guys. I'm new with the planted tank hobby so bare with me.

I've recently ordered a Finnex Planted+ 24/7 for my 38g tank. It's going through a bit of a redesign, but at the moment I have anubias, a few amazon swords, anacharis and some java moss. All are very limited/small due to the condition my tank was in with it's previous lighting/me being lazy, but it's all trimmed, set up and ready to go now.

According to the official Finnex chart, I should have about 50-60 PAR with this set up, I'm not sure if that's considered low/med/high tech. Other info - no CO2, temp is 78, only a few tetras at the moment, standard TopFin filter, trying to do 20% water change weekly. I believe that covers the basics. :P I don't have a vision for the tank yet, so I understand these questions may depend, just looking for an intro of sorts.

1. What are the must haves for maintaining a planted tank, specifically with my set up? As of now I have API CO2 booster (daily) and Seachem Flourish (weekly). I'm under the impressions these are the "big two" as far as supplements go. Both are close to running out (I tried the planted tank on and off with improper lighting, whoops) so I'm open to new products.

2. Are there any negatives to these products I should be aware of?

3. I use Seachem Prime to condition water before adding to the tank, is that okay?

Any other info would be nice! Like I said, just trying to get my feet wet here. Please let me know if there's any other info I could provide to make answering these questions easier.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-27-2015, 07:10 AM
Planted Member