• 2 Post By Maryland Guppy
  • 2 Post By Maverick2015
  • 2 Post By ichy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-24-2015, 05:17 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fert Advice

I'm setting up a 125G planted aquarium and would like some advice on ferts and what schedule I should use. I've been doing this for about a year now. I used to just use aquavitro products in my tanks, but I'm open to suggestions if there is a better way. Anyway, here's the specs.

125G
MiracleGro organic substrate with clay added and capped with pool filter sand.
4x 96 watt T5HO lights
CO2 injection

I havnt made a full list of plants yet, but it will be very heavily planted. Here's some I know I will be using..

Jungle Val
Assorted crypts
Tiger lotus
Anubias
Rotala indica
Ludwigia cuba
Stauragyne repens
Crinum calamistratum

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I've been doing this for about two years now and know a lot, but I always seem to end up with an algae issue that I'm pretty sure is caused by too many nutrients or lack there of. I want to get this one tuned as well as I can to avoid any algae issues from the start.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-24-2015, 11:52 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (15/100%)
NilocG.com
Should have everything you need.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-24-2015, 12:49 PM
Planted Member

Dry ferts is the way to go. I got mine from nilocg, you can also check out GLA. I do EI dosing and highly recommend it for the simplicity.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-24-2015, 01:02 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Estimative Index is a recipe that you can start with.
As you get to know your tank you can alter the recipe to best suit the way you handle it.
If you are using CO2, then the original method is the one to use.
If you are not using CO2, then there is a lighter version that works.

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/11...-regimes_.html

Here is another source: Planted Aquarium Fertilizer - Home