Seachem Fertilizers - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2009, 05:21 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Seachem Fertilizers

Hello all, I am new here and have read a lot of great things and there are so many awesome tank pics here! I am new to the planted tank and wanted to ask a question about fertilizers. I have chosen to go with the Seachem Flourish series which I have heard a lot about. Is this one of the better brands? I have the Excel for carbon and the Flourish supplement. Is it necessary to get anything more than this? Also do I still need CO2 injection with the liquid carbon? I am also using Eco-complete substrate. Thanks so much for the replies and help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2009, 02:46 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (5/100%)
Welcome to TPT!

Excel is typically used in low tech setups. There is a whole section for that here: https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/low-tech-forum/

I've been using it some of my tanks for a bit over two years with success, but there is a real limit to what it can do. It just doesn't provide enough carbon to grow many plants.

Flourish is a good source for the Micro nutrients. Trace is the other one that you may want to look at.

The amount of nutrients you add will be tied directly to the lighting and the plant growth you see.

After 2 years I finally bit the bullet and setup a pressurized system. In the long run it will be cheaper than buy 2 liters of Excel especially after the price went up 50% last year. If you do a pressurized system you will also need Nitrogen, Potassium, and Phosphorus.

It seems that many of the people on this board dose dry fertilizers since the Seachem line can get pretty expensive. I'm in the process of changing over now as my Seachem stuff runs out.

Eheim Pimp #381
Raleigh Aquarium Society Member
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2009, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower