Ferts And Fish - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-24-2009, 08:34 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (3/100%)
Send a message via AIM to SvenBoogie
Ferts And Fish

I may be too paranoid, but as I'm new to planted tanks I'm wanting to err on the side of caution here. I've read in multiple places that adding ferts when running a planted tank can potentially be harmful/fatal to your fish/inverts if you are not dosing properly.

My question is, can anyone fill me in (or just post links to info filling me in) on how to achieve the proper fert balance where the plants are getting sufficient nutrients, without harming the fish? Currently I'm dosing my 10 gallon tank with the following, 3 times per week (note: there are no fish in this tank just yet):

1/8 tsp KNO3
1/32 tsp KH2PO4
1/32 tsp K2SO4

To dose this, I am mixing 8x these amounts with 16oz dechlor water, and dosing 2oz of the mix for each dose. I am also dosing Flourish comprehensive at 1ml 2x per week.

Note: This is, as you probably noticed, the EI method, so I am doing 50% weekly water changes. I would prefer to come up with a method that allowed me to change more like 20% per week, but I'm not sure how to go about that.

EDIT: Additional details in case they are helpful:

2 x 26w CF 6500k - 8 hour photoperiod (4hr on, 1hr off, 4hr on)
Flourite Black substrate

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-24-2009, 10:36 PM
Algae Grower