Im new to dry ferts. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 10:57 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Im new to dry ferts.

I was looking around and the popular belief is that pre-packaged ferts like Flourish arent worth it because they are mostly water, i was wondering if there was a dry fert mixture that is "all in one" with the nutrients that plants need and is all mixed and ready to go, all i would need to do is add water, which i have no idea how much of to add, or if should be distilled, or RO.

Also, i have a 55 gallon tank, i would also be open to a suggestion of just to use flourish, but i want to know what flourish products should i dose, and how often?

Last edited by Darkblade48; 08-26-2015 at 02:26 AM. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 11:22 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

It isn't hard to mix your own dry ferts and save a bunch of money. I mix boric acid, Plantex CSM, K2SO4, and epsom salts and it has worked for 15 years so far. Easy peasy.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 01:06 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
the easiest possible way to go is here...
http://nilocg.com/dry-fertilizer/packages/

nilocg is a member here and will answer any questions you may have.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 01:25 AM
Algae Grower

I know next to nothing about how to go about using dry ferts, but I too am interested now that I know where to get them. I assume you make your own root tabs with them?
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-2015, 01:34 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LonghornGardens View Post
I know next to nothing about how to go about using dry ferts, but I too am interested now that I know where to get them. I assume you make your own root tabs with them?