Help on water parameters, please :) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-09-2009, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Send a message via AIM to DUHK Send a message via Yahoo to DUHK
Exclamation Help on water parameters, please :)

I have little knowledge of maintaining water parameters. What are good water parameters and if it isn't appropriate like hardness, would I need to adjust it and how do I?

Lastly, what are some good, simple test kits that I could buy at like Petsmart or Petco?

Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-09-2009, 08:10 AM
Planted Tank Guru

You have to be very careful about change properties of water. It is more important to have stable properties than adjusting them.

When my ph gets high I just put some sphagnum moss, which I first boil, in a bag in the tank. When the kh is low I add 1 tsp of baking soda to my 29 gallon tank.

May be able to get a combo test kit on EBay for a low price. Also check out Wall-mart.

For test need ph, ammonia, nitrites, nitrate test to check when the tank has finished cycling. Test for gh and kh good if you have plants. Most important is the ph and ammonia test. There is the item for ammonia test that sticks on the tank too.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-09-2009, 09:05 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Send a message via AIM to DUHK Send a message via Yahoo to DUHK
Thank you! I will check them out!

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-09-2009, 08:11 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DUHK View Post
I have little knowledge of maintaining water parameters. What are good water parameters and if it isn't appropriate like hardness, would I need to adjust it and how do I?

Lastly, what are some good, simple test kits that I could buy at like Petsmart or Petco?

Thank you!