Newbie Water Parameters? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By mattinmd

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2015, 07:11 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Newbie Water Parameters?

I am new to planted tanks I am giving this a shot, I plan to use all native plants from where I live for my first tank but by the time I gather all the proper equipment plants will be doing into dormancy.

This is why I need to start a 'stock' tank where I can grow plants in pots until I am ready to scape my tank, it is just a derimmed 10 gallon tank and I have a small rubber coated rack in there to elevate a few pots closer to the waters surface:

I have a brand new pump from my new tank (15.8G cornerless bow-front) should do the trick just fine since I will be using a canister with my 15.8G, it was a National Geographic tank:

The lighting is all temporary; the top lights will be suspended off the wall and the bottom will be attached to the underside of the top surface. So I guess my question is starting with the filter, it has two compartments with two sponge filters and a charcoal sack. I read before you do not use or need the charcoal with planted tanks should I remove it? Should I run anything besides two sponges? If I fill it with tap water what types of tests do I need to run on the pond water where I pull the plants from besides pH?? I know I cant just stick pond plants in clear tap water without having certain levels correct.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2015, 02:09 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
I would not pay a huge amount of attention pH, as it tends to fluctuate with CO2 saturation. CO2 is an acid in water so it temporarily lowers pH, but with the lights on the p. KH (alkalinity really) is a more useful test in most cases.