Total Noob Help Needed - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 07-29-2009, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
Total Noob Help Needed

OK - so tank has been up for around a month now and everything seems to be doing relatively well. I need help figuring out what to do now moving forward. 55 gallon, 108W HO T5(spectrum & actinic), eco complete substrate, 2 x DIY Co2 w/ bubble diffusers, and a good amount of noob plants (anacharis, anubias, moneywort, cabomba, swords, and HC). Right now, no visible algaes - have around 12 neon tetras and 4 SAEs, lights on noon to midnight. Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates all undetectable...

When should I start doing water changes and how much?
What do I dose? What types of ferts? Liquid or tabs? Do I dose Nitrates? The only liquid ferts I have right now (which I have not used) are API's Leaf Zone "pro series" lol, and Nutrafin's PlantGro Iron Enriched. Any help is much appreciated as this is all new to me...

Thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 07-29-2009, 10:46 PM
Aroid Addict

PTrader: (76/100%)
You could probably start doing water changes once you start to see nitrates. As for ferts, I'd recommend these from GLA. Dry ferts are much easier and economical than liquids, and you'll thank yourself in the long run. I used Seachem's Flourish line for quite a while, and now that I have dry ferts, I'm never going back to liquids.

Also, if you have T5HO's you may want to think about a CO2 system. Your plants would benefit greatly from extra CO2 in the water. You may also want to replace the actinic bulb with another kind, like a 10000K or something similar. Actinics aren't the greatest for plants.

Got Plants?-6 CO2 + 12 H2O → C6H12O6 + 6 O2 + 6 H2O

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.