fishless cycling question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2009, 05:31 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
fishless cycling question

Here is one more question non related to planted tanks but I find this forum especially useful in answering all sorts of parameter related questions so here it is.I have been using ammonia for several years to do fishless cycling in tanks with no plants and it takes from 4-8 weeks for the tank to cycle.for those who did this before is there a compound containing nitrites that can be used from the beginning along with ammonia to save the time needed for ammonia to turn to nitrites?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-01-2009, 06:10 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
Send a message via AIM to bradac56 Send a message via MSN to bradac56 Send a message via Yahoo to bradac56 Send a message via Skype™ to bradac56
Quote:
Originally Posted by anafranil View Post
Here is one more question non related to planted tanks but I find this forum especially useful in answering all sorts of parameter related questions so here it is.I have been using ammonia for several years to do fishless cycling in tanks with no plants and it takes from 4-8 weeks for the tank to cycle.for those who did this before is there a compound containing nitrites that can be used from the beginning along with ammonia to save the time needed for ammonia to turn to nitrites?

Why would you not plant the tank first? I do fishless water cycles as well but I heavily plant the tank and it doesn't take half as long to fully cycle.

Not only does it feed the plants but the plants cycle the water.

- Brad

Proud member of the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

VICTOR PIMP #58 -