CSM+B Problems - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-21-2009, 02:16 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
CSM+B Problems

I am new to ferts so maybe my inexperience caused this problem. My CSM+B that I mixed about two weeks ago recently started developing weird cloudy patches in it. Basically it looks like someone backwashed into the jar, the spots will settleat the bottom if I leave it alone for a while but will not disolve back into the solution. The mix was good for at least a week before this started happening. It is 1tbsp in 250ml of water mixed into a pint mason jar. I also have my other ferts mixed in identical jars and they have no such cloudy things in them. Anyone know what this may be?

Last edited by swcurtis; 06-21-2009 at 02:23 AM. Reason: Oops, hit enter way to soon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-21-2009, 02:40 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (8/100%)
It is a fungus. There are a number of ways to combat it. i personally just mix up a 100mL batch and keep it in the fridge to control the fungus. Do a search and you'll find many recommendations. The most common is keep it in the dark, and or keep it cold. By all accounts, and in my somewhat limited experience, the fungus is harmless.

Steve
Victor Pimp #34
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-21-2009, 08:24 PM Thread Starter

So even though I used distilled water there is still a fungus in it?

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-21-2009, 08:41 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

CSM+B is a fertilizer that was designed to grow stuff as fast as possible. It doesn't matter what kind of water you started with, with that many minerals in one place something is eventually going to grow.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-22-2009, 02:25 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (267/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by swcurtis View Post