Ferts and Fish?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 12:45 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Ferts and Fish??

Set up a new 58G about a month ago. Plants are doing great, much to my surprise....first plant tank!! Definitely low-tech, just root tabs and excel every other day. Problem is, my guppies keep dying, one or two a day and I can't understand WHY??? Been keeping fish 20 years and I do my WC's faithfully. Zero ammonia in the tank and mature filters. Is it possible or likely that the excel is causing this??? I have never used the stuff before, being a "fish guy". I am careful to premix it with about 8 ounces of water first and slowly pour it into the tank near a PH to mix it up. I've had guppies in another tank well over a year and they do fine...this tank kills them?!...any thoughts??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 01:45 PM
Children Boogie

PTrader: (13/100%)
how are they dying? maybe it's disease.

and how much excel are you adding?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 02:03 PM Thread Starter

I'm adding 5ml every other day, a bit less than the directions indicate and less frequently...trying not to trigure an algae breakout. The fish came from 3 different sources, over time. They do fine, eat good and are active, then get lethargic for a day and die. I pulled several into a QT tank and medicated for bacteria and parasites for two weeks......lost all of them too....which kinda points away from the excel I guess, but I am unaccustomed to losing fish like this....mine usually die of old age. Also have 4 plecos in the tank who seem to be doing just fine, while the guppies drop like flies!! I am confused........

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 03:30 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)