New planted tank with cloudy water. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-28-2015, 01:29 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New planted tank with cloudy water.

I recently set up a 65 gallon freshwater with plants. The water has been cloudy since the start of the set up. It had been set up on Monday and plants were added on Thursday. I have a aqua top cf500 canister with uv filtration. My lights are 36" current satellite plus freshwater LEDs. I'm new to the hobby so Any advice is great. I used tap water and conditioned it with prime. I also used tetra start up liquid. Yesterday I used clarity to see if it would help with the milky cloudiness but it seems to have stayed the same if not worse.

Bump:

Bump:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	491530  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	75.3 KB
ID:	491538  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-28-2015, 01:47 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Cloudy water

The tetra safe start will do that . the cloudyness is the bacteria bloom from the safe start. Be sure you have a source of ammonia for the bacteria to feed on or it will die off. Add a couple of zebra danios. The water will clear up in a short time.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-28-2015, 01:51 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Just an observation, you seem to have aluminum plant. If that's the case, that not a true aquatic plant. It's normally used in ripariums and such.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
|
|
|
|

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-28-2015, 02:05 AM Thread Starter