Not sure how to read these numbers... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-07-2009, 02:01 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Not sure how to read these numbers...

I am just starting out in this whole planted tank hobby and just picked up a API GH & KH test. I took readings from my tap and my tank and here are the results.

Tank
----------------------
GH KH
28 13

Tap
----------------------
GH KH
27 15

PH is right around 8.0. I have the Hagen PH Wide Test which uses a color chart and to tell the truth its kinda hard to read.

My mother inlaw does water testing on the well and said its high because
of calcium or lime not iron so I am not sure if that is good or bad.

90 Gallon tall with 29 gallon sump filled to about 25 gallons at all time.
Temp 81 Degrees.
Using Flourish Ecel per directions and supplement per directions.
Using Flourite 3" for substrate and nothing else.
One large section of drift wood purchase from the pet store.
And lots of plants!
4 T5HO 48". 2 white bulbs 2 blue to take away yellow coloring.

I have looked at some chats however I am very confused. First i am not sure how to get my CO2 reading from this.
Is it good?
Bad?
Not enough?
Need more?

Very confused as you can see :-)

Also if these numbers are not in line what can I do to fix them?
Also besides plants my goal is to have Discus fish once the tank has been running for some time. Currently it has been running for 6 months.

Thanks for all the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-07-2009, 03:55 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)