Use of organics in tanks? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-27-2015, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Use of organics in tanks?

I have a huge hobby in biochem, but I'm not an expert on the subject and no formal education on the matter. For the past few years, I've been feeding my front lawn a mix of organic protein animal feeds (e.g. soybean meal, alfalfa pellets, corn gluten meal) with a huge success and neighborhood envy with how thick dark green my turf looks. That got me thinking, why not apply some of the same concepts to my planted aquarium?

I know the microbe life in your lawn's dirt are a little different than in the aquarium, but organic matter breakdown is still possible from what I've observed (though a little slower). I assume you would want to avoid high levels of Nitrogen. Alfalfa meal however seems like a good choice to put in a pill tab, and use as a root tab. The NPK is most of the time 2-1-2, which is a nice lower level dose for stability (for us non-CO2 users). There's also the added benefit that alfalfa breaks down and provides, iron, calcium, magnesium, sodium, and other trace elements. If I should avoid any nitrogen at all, a lot of fruit skins would be just as good (e.g. banana, apple, grapefruit). The more attractive point is the price, as I usually grab a 50lb bag of alfalfa pellets for $15.

Any thoughts or any one actually doing something like this already?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-27-2015, 04:58 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)