PPS Pro and Low Nitrates? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-06-2009, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (8/100%)
PPS Pro and Low Nitrates?

I'm new to dosing and decided to use the PPS Pro dosing regimen, with some slight changes. I know EI may be more foolproof but large water changes are hard for me with this tank, but I can do small (12-15%) water changes very easily. Hoping some here can help with something I've noticed now only 3 days into dosing. I mixed up the macros/micros using only 100mL of RO/DI water to see how things got started. I followed the recommended amounts of dry ferts, using for the 100ml of water 5.9G K2S04, 6.5G KN03, .6G KH2PO4, 4.1 MgSO4. Then in a seperate bottle mixed 8Grams of CSM+B. I use a Pact digital scale from my reloading tools for measuring the ferts so I'm confident the amounts are extremely accurate. I checked some of the parameters I could last night using calibrated SeaChem drop test kits. I see about .5ppm P04, but very little Nitrate. In fact it measures at less than 1PPM. I know I can up the dose of NO3, but what ppm am I aiming for with Nitrate? Can't find that info for some reason, though I know I've read it. The other thing is I don't have a lot of plants yet so I can hardly believe NO3 is being used up so readily, or is barely detectable nitrate levels correct after nearly 24 hours since dosing?

Also, I run 150W VHO over a 100 gallon 24" deep tank for 9 hours with a 3 hour burst adding 250W MH. Does this seem a reasonable period/combination for PPS Pro? CO2 comes on 90 minutes before the lights to achieve a green dc about the same time as lights on. I notice some of the plants collect and release bubbles, which I assume is "pearling" but they only do this during the MH burst.

Substrate is mixed Eco Comp 25%, Fluorite25% and gravel. The LFS didn't have enough of one or the other so I mixed them.