Nitrate Jump - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 01:21 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Nitrate Jump

Hi folks!

I'm new here so I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this. Please correct me if I'm wrong

I'm new to planted aquariums, trying my first 20 gallon tall. I started it in January. Form everything I've read (and plenty!), it's fully cycled. All water parameters after cycling have been stable until yesterday. I noticed the 20 gallon had jumped from 0 nitrates to 20. My 2 gallon QT was at 40. Surprise! My first weird nitrate experience.

On the 20 gallon, I immediately performed a partial water change and substrate vac, where I could get in-between the plants and hardscape. I took out the two weeks old charcoal and added a new Purigen pouch to the HOB filter system. As an aside, the Purigen was added mostly to clear the tannins from Mopani wood. Today the nitrates are down to .25 in the 20 gallon. The fish are doing great. Plants are great too.

On the small QT, I did an immediate partial water change and substrate vac. After a second partial water change today, it's down to 5.0 nitrates. The two newest guppies who appear to being getting red gills are now in the QT being treated for possible gill flukes with AngelsPlus Deworming II food (helps eliminate Gill flukes), saltwater, etc. I have not had an ammonia problem at all.

So, being new to all of this I'm wondering if someone can help me understand what's going on with the nitrates? I do have very hard water here in the desert. The Kh is 161.1 for both tanks. The Gh is off the charts. But I wanted to try to work with the water I have for now. I know about RO/DI water, but still really want to try to learn to work with what I have. Oh, and I always properly treat the tap water before adding to the tanks. Lastly, I tested my tap water. It has 0 nitrates.