Topping off Evaporated water - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-12-2015, 02:31 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Topping off Evaporated water

Hi guys im fairly new to using Deionized water and I have been topping off my tank using DI water that I have matched the PH to the tank. Well today I was testing my water and noticed my PH is slowly rising. So I tested KH/GH and it was higher than what it was before last week by like 4 drops at least. I made abit more research and realised that I Should use just straight DI water with no buffers or anything so that KH-GH dont rise. They state that DI water should be neutral PH(7), when I test my pure DI water(straight from the filter line so it has the smallest contact with atmosphere) I get a bright yellow colour indicating very acidic water. The chart doesnt go lower than PH of 6 so im assuming its 6 or lower. I have increased C02 Bps to lower the PH back down to around 6.6 running just shy of 2bps.

Okay now im scared to add this very acidic DI water to the tank and it causing to Drasticly lower my KH within a short period of time and making the PH Swing harming/killing my shrimp/fish.

Params of tank:
PH 6.6
KH: 9 drops so 5dkh
GH:10 drops
C02: 37 ppm(+/-)
P04: 1ppm
N03: 10ppm
Params of DI water:
Ph:<6
KH:0
GH:0
Can someone please give me some help please before I destroy my water chemistry

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-12-2015, 02:42 AM
Algae Grower

If you are just topping off evaporated water with RO/DI water then you don't want to add anything to the water as the addition of anything to the water would accumulate in your tank as you have noticed.