Treating soft tap water - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 07:27 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Treating soft tap water

My tap water is very soft 30 ppm gh and 35 ppm kh. I have a med light 29g with soy co2 gourami tetras otos and amanos. Also a low light guppy tank 55g. I would like to increase hardness to 5dgh and kh enough to prevent ph swings for the plants in the 29 and up the 55 to around 10dgh for the gups.

I bought a small jar of seachem equilibrium but that's gonna cost an arm and a leg to maintain. I'm a hot tub tech and can get calcium chloride (not sure if it's 100% but I think so) and either sodium carbonate or sodium hydrogen carbonate(same as sodium bicarbonate or baking soda?) for dirt cheap. Add some Epsom salt and should be good right? Is there anything else that's missing from this cocktail? What ratios would I use, I can experiment in a bucket to find the right levels and have a test for kh gh calcium hardness but cannot test mg or sodium.

Would you keep a big trash can of treated water ready to go or mix it in buckets or the tank itself? How long would the water be ok in the garage and would I need filtration or a power head to keep it moving?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 08:49 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
I'd avoid the calcium chloride... I don't think plants will respond very well to high concentrations of chloride ions in the water. Small amounts, fine, but if you want to add enough to go from 30ppm of hardness to 87.42ppm (5dGh) that's probably going to bring a bit too much chloride to the party..

The usual "GH booster" blend is Calcium sulfate (gypsum), Magnesium sulfate (Epsom salt), and Potassium sulfate. You could do without the potassium in the GH booster, but you'll need to have some supplement of it somewhere to keep your plants happy.