Need help with water specs - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Need help with water specs

I am new at this hobby and I am loving it. But I am unsure what I should be reading. Hopefully someone can look at my specs and let me know how I am doing

72 gallon bow only RO water filled
NH3 1.0 using the API drops and .5 when I use the test strip
NO2 0
NO3 40
GH 125.3
KH 17.9
PH 6.7
Temp 78.5

I am using aquariumplants.c0m & flourite (red) Mixed substrate 3 - 4" high
Heavily planted
3 WPG (GE 9325 CF) lighting 9 hrs a day with an additional 1.5 WPG (10K CF) Burst for 4 hours
20lb CO2 w/ Rex canister inline reactor
Milwaukee sp122 CO2 Controller.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 09:33 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (47/100%)
Send a message via AIM to imeridian
With an ammonia reading your tank is still cycling, I hope you don't have fish in there, if you do, then you don't have enough plant mass to take up the ammonia.

Where'd the GH and KH come from if you filled the tank with RO?

You also have too much light, not a little too much, a lot too much. Six 55/65 watt bulbs on a 72g tank is overkill in a massive way. I had rapid and nearly out of control growth with running two 55/65w PCs for eight hours and another two on four hour burst.

In any case, you need a comprehensive fertilization program, that's pretty much the most important aspect of a higher light planted tank.

75 Gallon Planted Tank
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 09:39 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thanks imeridian,