Help me understand EI Dosing! - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-20-2009, 05:05 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help me understand EI Dosing!

I am gonna start by saying hello to everyone.

HELLO! Nice meeting you all!

OK, now, I am new to planted tanks and I am still reading up on the subject before starting the venture. I have read many a thread on EI Dosing. Everything seems quite simple enough. I shouldn't have a problem building and fallowing a set regime. The plan (as I understand it) is that you give excess (word used loosely) nutrients, keep the CO2 at 30ppm and give the amount of light depending on your total wattage. Simply put, the plants have it all.

Now for what I don't understand - to keep your tank algae free, your plants need to outcompete the algae, that's simple enough and straight forward.
But where does the competition take place? I mean the nutrients are all there in excess, the CO2 is stable and the light, well, it's whatever you have under the hood.

Maybe I am missed reading something fundamental or maybe I am just nuts and shouldn't worry about the inner workings of it all. Yet, I would still like to understand what I am doing before doing it.

Any input would be great.

Akwar-e'um
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-20-2009, 05:23 AM
Banned

PTrader: (19/100%)
Sometimes problems arrive when one or more nutrients bottoms out. This lets the algae that likes these kind of conditions to grow and the plants can't grow because of the missing nutrient(s). EI doesn't allow nutrients to bottom out. Also, the lights and CO2 play a vital part of the system.

EHEIM PIMP #164
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Classic 2011, Classic 2213, Classic 2217, ECCO 2236, Pro II 2028, Liberty 2040, Liberty 2042

VICTOR PIMP #1