Liquid frets - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-05-2014, 11:00 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Liquid frets

I have a 90g heavy planted tank with co2. The only frets I use at the moment are excel, flourish, trace and root tabs. I'm new to the whole ferts game and was wondering if this is enough for am I missing something ? I know there's dry getto but I feel I'm not ready for that yet. All my plants are growing very well, I just know there's more I could be doing for them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-05-2014, 12:40 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
Assuming your root tabs are seachem, not something like DIY osmocote... you are going to be rather low on the macronutrients Nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), potassium(K). Other than water and carbon, plants use these nutrients in substantially larger quantities than anything else.

Yes, Flourish comprehensive (aka Flourish) has some NPK content, but compared to the amount plants use it is effectively trivial unless you overdose the micronutrients it contains to dangerous levels. Flourish contains .32% iron and 0.07% nitrogen, or 4.5x as much iron, but plants use nitrogen significantly more than iron (probably over 100x more, but I don't have numbers onhand).

Seachem root tabs are in a similar boat, containing almost 10x as much iron as nitrogen.

Seachem does this somewhat deliberately, allowing people to dose macronutrients separately so they can adjust them based on the amount of fish waste they have (fish waste provides N and P, but very little K)

If your plants are growing fine, you're probably OK for now.. keep an eye out for brown-yellow edged holes in leaves, which suggest K deficiency. That will probably show up first.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-05-2014, 12:47 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Is there anything else that I should be using ?