Sediment in well water - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 07:28 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (6/100%)
Sediment in well water

I have been using well water for 2 years now since I moved in this house. Battle with algae started on Day 1 and I'm losing. Never had this problem before using tap water. Could it be the sediment from the well causing this? Every time I change the whole house water filter cartridge, I can see it is covered in black / dark grey sediment with consistency like toothpaste. The filter I use is 30 micron, and I change it every 3 months. Water parameter looks fine, but it is difficult to grow anything but algae.

Do I have to go with RO? I don;t really want to because of well. Are there any other way to treat the water for sediments?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 07:53 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Not sure what kind of whole house filter you have, whether it's a sediment filter (pleated, rolled or string wound) or combo filter with carbon in it, but just a sediment filter would help with the gunk. A large 4 in dia filter would be best. There are some that take a cartridge that's twice as tall as normal, or two 10 in cartridges stacked, they clog much more slowly.

Not sure sediment's the problem, though, have you had your well water tested for chemicals? Ag runoff in well water is fairly common. How about hardness minerals?

Possibly test results now compared to your old tap could give some insight. Well water itself doesn't cause algae, it's usually a combination of things, but most unwanted substances can be removed by some type of filter, carbon, ion exchange, etc.

RO's pretty easy once it's understood and that's just a matter of filtering out the confusing info, the technology is simple.

An entire world is in your tank.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 08:15 PM
Wannabe Guru

Your Tank Water

Quote: