I am new to plants, what is some all-purpose fert/mineral supplement I can add? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I am new to plants, what is some all-purpose fert/mineral supplement I can add?

I am not growing anything extraoridinary. Just some elodea, reeds, duckweed, lucky bamboo, pothos ivy, arrowheads, anubias and a few unidentified.

My duckweed has gotten to the point of doubling every 3 days or so. I fear soon the other plants will be low on nutrients. I like the plants but their real benefit and reason I have them is to cut down on water changes. I don't really want to get into super technical things and testing right now. Is there some product I could add as a general purpose fert/minerals without getting into testing?

Right now I just feed the fish a variety of frozen and dry foods and use 1 teaspoon of reef crystals salt per ~8 gallons which obviously will have some good minerals etc. I change 50% of the water monthly just using tap water and take out a cup of packed duckweed per week. Tank is 25 gallons.

Just looking for something simple to get me started.

~Kimberly
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 12:13 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (6/100%)
Salt is for salt water tanks.
Lucky bamboo is a land plant that will eventually die under water.
But a nitrate test kit would keep you from killing fish.
The nitrate builds up and gets to be too much in there.
A test kit would let you determine if this is happenning or not. You only need increase the amount of water you change in most cases if it is building up on you. There are all in one ferts but most are more expensive than regular dry ferts. Those need to be learned however.