EI Dosing Check & Suggestions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-13-2014, 07:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
EI Dosing Check & Suggestions

Hi,

I am new to the planted tank and EI dosing and have been reading everything I can but still have some questions and would like those that are more experienced than me to offer their comments and suggestions.

I have a 25g high tank, CO2 24/7, Ecocomplete, Eheim 2213 Cannister filter and 2- Sat+light fixtures with a 7 hour full spectrum light schedule, bracketed by no white and cloud cover modes for about 5 hours split on either side of the full spectrum period. Heavily planted.

My readings are as follows:
Nitrites 0
Ammonia 0
PH 6.5 ( out of the tap 7.5 - 7.6)
KH - 6d
Gh - 9d
Nitrates 5 ppm after wc, 30 - 40+ ppm right before wc
Water Change - 50% every week.

According to the calculator I am using (Nutricalc) I am dosing for the following conditions:

Nitrate 30 ppm
Potassium 30 ppm
Phosphate 3.0 ppm
Magnesium 10 ppm
Fe 1.0 ppm

This translates to the following amounts mixed with 500ml of water dosed at 3 times per week, alternating Micro and Macro

65g - KNO3
30g - K2SO4
18.5g - KH2PO4
168.5g - MgSO4
23g - CSM+B

My question is first, does the mix look correct. Second, because of the high nitrates I am seeing right before the water change should I cut back on the KNO3 and increase something else, and if so which one or ones and how much.

Sorry for being long winded, just tried to get all the facts out.

Thanks

Ehiem Pimp Club #546
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-13-2014, 09:18 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
if nitrates are too high then yes cut out kno3 and increase k2so4.

75 Gallon Low Tech w/ Green Terror Pair
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-13-2014, 09:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote: