When to refill CO2 tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2014, 02:40 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
When to refill CO2 tank?

I am new to pressurized CO2. My new full tank has 2 gauges. High pressure gauge says 900 psi and low pressure gauge says 35 psi (I set it to 35 psi per protocol). How low should the high pressure gauge become before I need to refill the tank? 500 psi? 300 psi? 100 psi? (Lowest tick mark on my high pressure gauge is 100 psi)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2014, 09:37 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I wait till mine gets right above the lowest point.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2014, 10:18 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (23/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattcham View Post
I am new to pressurized CO2. My new full tank has 2 gauges. High pressure gauge says 900 psi and low pressure gauge says 35 psi (I set it to 35 psi per protocol). How low should the high pressure gauge become before I need to refill the tank? 500 psi? 300 psi? 100 psi? (Lowest tick mark on my high pressure gauge is 100 psi)

The gauge will stay at roughly the same spot until the tank is almost out. Once the pressure gauge starts dropping, it means you have exhausted your liquid CO2 and are currently using the remainder of the gas in the tank. Just how much is left depends on how much gas you are pumping out.

With my 20lb tank, the bubble counter goes almost too fast to count for about 10 hours a day. When the pressure gauge starts dropping I can easily go a week or more. Just know that as the pressure starts to drop, the bubble rate will also decrease. So unless you want to fiddle with increasing the needle valve, just swap out your tank within the first week of the pressure dropping.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2014, 10:27 PM