Do I need potassium and iron? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-19-2014, 05:15 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Do I need potassium and iron?

Hi, I am new to planted tanks. I have cobomba, red ludwigia, java fern, moneywort and pennywort. My tank is 29 gallons and I use an aquaticlife t5 fixture that is 48 watts. I guess this makes it low light? Anyway I have been adding flourish comp. and excel and everything is starting to grow and look really healthy. ( I am a little worried about my bolivian ram as it seems he does not like when I add excel). So since I don't what to add anything else to the tank that isn't needed do you think my tank would benefit from iron and potassium?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-19-2014, 06:07 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
You have a 2-bulb T5HO fixture with good reflectors on an 18" high tank... You are probably not low light.

In general, do not use watts/gallon guidelines on modern light fixtures. It has no correction for the higher efficiency of modern lighting.

If it is just sitting directly above your tank you are probably above PAR/PPFD of 50. (lower end of high light). If you have it raised well above the tank (20" above the tank rim or so) you might be in low-light territory.

See the graphs for the 4-bulb version of this lamp, having PAR/PPFD of about 115 at 20" height. You should be somewhere near half that (57.5-ish)

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=184368

Excel:
if your inhabitants don't like it, try reducing the dosage and watch for algae problems.

Fertilizers in general:
You've got good growth and no signs of deficiency, so you are probably OK for now. Keep an eye on the tank and see if things change later.

Iron: