Newbie dry fertilizer question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-28-2014, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Newbie dry fertilizer question

Hi all,

I'm a newbie setting up a 55 gallon aquarium. So far I have java fern and anubias in it, but I would like to order some more plants and fertilizer. It will be a low-light no CO2 tank, so I am thinking about using the fertilizing method here http://www.sudeepmandal.com/hobbies/...singfertilizer . I would like to go with dry fertilizers as they seem more cost effective, but in the method above Seachem Equilibrium is used. The author mentions that you can use CSM+B instead of Equilibrium, but then you will need to add Calcium and Magnesium. I am wondering what dry fertilizers I should use for that, and how much should I dose?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-29-2014, 02:45 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Quote:
Originally Posted by ac0xr View Post
Hi all,

I'm a newbie setting up a 55 gallon aquarium. So far I have java fern and anubias in it, but I would like to order some more plants and fertilizer. It will be a low-light no CO2 tank, so I am thinking about using the fertilizing method here http://www.sudeepmandal.com/hobbies/...singfertilizer . I would like to go with dry fertilizers as they seem more cost effective, but in the method above Seachem Equilibrium is used. The author mentions that you can use CSM+B instead of Equilibrium, but then you will need to add Calcium and Magnesium. I am wondering what dry fertilizers I should use for that, and how much should I dose?

Thanks!

The dosing is set for EI method which might be too much for a low tech tank.

If you are buying dry ferts then CSM+B is your trace and Barr's GH booster (@ aquarium fertilizers) will provide the Magnesium and Calcium.

So you need to buy:
Potassium Nitrate <-- Nitrogen(N)
Monopotassium Phosphate <-- Phosporus (P)