Need suggestions on liquid fertilizers. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-23-2014, 05:45 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need suggestions on liquid fertilizers.

Hi guys i recently joined this forum and learned so many things. I am new to this hobby and i am planning to buy a liquid fertilizer (micro and macro) the fertilizer i am about to buy contains:
Macro Nutrients - A mixture of N,P,K,Mg,S,Ca.. And
Micro Nutrients - A mixture of Fe, Min, Zn, Cu, B, Mo, Ci etc.
So i wanna know are those above mixture ok?
tank - 24x12x18 in inches.
lighting - 1 36w pll.
plants - amazon swords, star grass and ambulia.
fished - neon tetras and otos.
Tank setup just 2 weeks ago.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-23-2014, 02:26 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
Well Macro's contain only 3 nutrients which is the Nitrogen, Phosphate, K = potassium.

Magnesium, calcium, iron, boron, etc... are micro nutrients; Now it will depend on the source of nitrogen, for instance potassium nitrate KNO3, or calcium nitrate ca(no3)2, or even magnesium nitrate Mg(NO3)2.

Most people here in the US use potassium nitrate for their source of nitrogen, but other countries may have it banned so people their go with calcium nitrate as their nitrogen source. So it all depends on what's legal, and readily available in your country...

45g Long - High Light Planted Tank / 30g - Plant Grow Out Tank / 100g Tank - currently resealing
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 12:48 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Ok so i just went througj all the information and i am a bit confused. can anyone tell me the exact chemicals needed for macro and micro. because i am about to buy dry fertilizers.. please also tell me their mixture like how much and what to mix in macro and micro and their dosage.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 02:01 PM
Planted Tank Guru