Dry ferts, does this look good for low tech? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-19-2014, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
Dry ferts, does this look good for low tech?

Yes, I am sorry, another dry fert question. I know nothing about them, but have been reading up and I want to make sure this sounds right. I know every tank is different, and you have to watch the plants, but I need a start point. This is for a 20 gallon, low to mid light, no co2, medium planted at the moment. I will then adjust for my smaller and larger tanks.

500 ml bottle with dose of 5 ml a week.
KNO3 123 grams
K2SO4 168 grams
KH2PO4 10 grams

Plantex CSM+B 23 grams (in different 500 ml bottle)

Since I am a beginner, I went for a package that contained all of these, as opposed to buying each. I figure I will learn what I need and don't need as I go, and can re-buy what I use.

I have been using Flourish comp, but decided to give this a try as my Hygro is loosing leaves, and getting holes. I assume that is a potassium deficiency
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-20-2014, 07:51 PM
Are these real?

PTrader: (194/100%)
There are fertilizer calculators available that will tell you how much your dosing will increase the ppm's of the various nutrients. I don't have one with me right now but most likely you can google something. So instead of saying whether it is too much or too little, which depends on your tank/lowlight/noCO2, I will have just a few random thoughts...

1) Unless your water has nitrates in it, I would usually dose less K2SO4 than KNO3. Why? Works for me. Hard to measure K. Some of the EI fans don't dose any K2SO4, others double up. Whatever works for your situation.