When to begin PPS pro fertilizing?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2014, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
When to begin PPS pro fertilizing??

Hi,

I started my first Low Tech. Planted Tank on 8/6/2014.

Tank: Eclipse 3 gallon
Substrate" Eco-Complete
Filter: Tom Mini Internal Filter 45gph
Powerhead:Shiruba
Lighting: T5 F6 Natural Daylight
Plants: Water Wisteria
Broad leaf water sprite
Moneywort
Narrow leaf anacharis
Dwarf sagitteria
Anubias nana
Heavily planted

My plan was to start using PPS Pro Fertilizer from Green Leaf once a week.

This is my first attempt at a planted tank, and thought I would get your thoughts on when to start dosing, before I proceed.

Thanks,
Bill
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	006_edited-1.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	305.2 KB
ID:	355857  

Last edited by grouperkeys; 08-11-2014 at 05:39 PM. Reason: Added substrate used
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2014, 05:37 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)
What substrate are you using? The best idea is to start providing the needed nutrients to the plants as soon as you put them in the tank. But, if you are using ADA Aquasoil, for example, which is loaded with nutrients, you could wait a few weeks before starting to fertilize. It wouldn't hurt to start right away, even with a nutrient loaded substrate.

If you use the EI dosing method instead of PPS you will have far fewer reasons to be concerned about having too much of any fertilizers in the water. See https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=21944

Hoppy
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2014, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

HI,

Thanks for the reply. I have edited my post to include Eco Complete as the substrate used. I guess I had a "senior Moment "

I already have the PPS Pro Ferts. I guess I'll have to be careful with the dosing to prevent over fertilizing.