Dosing Non CO2 tank with ferts and Seachem Excel - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-03-2014, 12:34 AM Thread Starter
Banned

PTrader: (6/100%)
Dosing Non CO2 tank with ferts and Seachem Excel

I'm setting up a low tech tank and I want to dose some ferts and excel. I purchased dry ferts from Greenleaf aquariums. I have KNO3 and KH2P04 for macros and I was going to use seachem trace and floushish comprehensive for Micros. Do I have everything I need?

I'm new to adding ferts this is going to be my first attempt. I know there are 3 macros Nitrogen Phosphorus Potassium. What do I use for Potassium?

Is there a dry fert I can use for micro's instead of the seachem line?

Greenleaf aquariums has a bunch of differnet dry ferts and I'm unsure what to get.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-03-2014, 12:49 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (29/100%)
K is potassium lol so you're covered.

I have 2 low tech / med-high light tanks and dose with the EXACT same ingredients you describe.
Start out slow because if you over-do it algae will conquer you. I find that 1/2 EI works good for me with respect to dry ferts. Full EI dosing is too much for a tank that does not have CO2 injection. With low tech / excel you should not dose full EI.
EI dosing amounts can be found here.

Here is my schedule that has been working for a while:

Macro Day - 1/2 EI dose of KNO3 / KH2PO4 (these 2 should cover your macros)
Micro Day - Recommended dose on bottle of Flourish Comp (5mL / 60gal) / a bit of Trace as well (will cover micros)

Alternate macro and micro days so that dosing occurs every day.

Excel every day (important) - I do 2x the recommended amount personally. My fish don't seem to mind.

50% water change each week

Again, start slow because if your plants don't use it all up algae will...