very hard water - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-12-2014, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
very hard water

Hello, newbie here! Planning a 75g low tech and keep researching and learning all I can. I have very hard water 8.47 pH, 143.2 GH and 89.5 KH. Read that keeping a stable KH is more important than chasing pH, using natural and chemical buffers and use of R/O water. Initially wanted angels (local angels are in 7.4 pH) and apistos, but now thinking going with fish who are natural to hard, alkaline water to decrease expense of using lots of R/O. THEN I read that hard alkaline water is hard on plants. Recommendation was to use "carbon dioxide fertilization plus calcareous rocks and substrates to help buffer water and keep pH from dropping". 1) What does this mean, use of CO2? I would like to avoid that so maybe back to using more R/O water and balance minerals, etc. from there? 2) And/or use plants that are best suited to this environment? 3) use wood to decrease pH and limestone to raise so there are equal buffers? Sorry so long HELP!! Trying to understand, very confusing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-12-2014, 07:21 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (44/100%)
Your pH is a bit high but your water is not that hard. Except for the extreme softwater blackwater crypts and certain stem plants, you can grow just about any of the plants available in low tech. You can go with crypts, vals, anubias, java ferns, and dwarf lotuses just fine in low tech.

The Fraternity of Dirt #112

Cryptocoryne farmer
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 05:02 AM
Algae Grower

The only way I know how to maintain a desirable/stable PH is with Injected C02 along with a PH Controller.

Like Monster Fish states The key to a Low tech tank is picking the correct plants for it.