pH questions. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2014, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
pH questions.

So I'm in my 3rd year in the hobby. After loosing my first tank to what I thought was my well water I started doing water changes with Poland springs gallon jugs. I'm at the point now that I think it was not the well water that caused me to lose the first tank but my inexperience.

Well on to my questions. The spring water is killing me $$ wise so I'm looking to get back to using my tap/well if possible. Checked the pH of my aquarium today and its 8.0 or maybe even higher. I have never lost a fish since I started using the Poland springs. I tested my tap water an hour ago and it was at 6.0. And then an hour later still 6.0 so its not changing as it sits like some peoples do. I plan on checking it again in another hour to be sure.

The tank I'm currently running is a 20 gallon cherry shrimp breeding tank. Petco black sand substrate, some dwarf hairgrass, and a couple of swords. Got a cool manzinita branch I'm putting in this week with some Christmas moss on it as well.

I have co2 injection set up but not running yet and Im using seachems root tabs under the plants.

Should I try to get the pH up on the tap water to use it, and should I test it for anything else? Ammonia nitrite or nitrate?

Also if it matters I'm using a home made hamburg mat filter for my only filtration.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2014, 04:52 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
Check it after 24 hours

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2014, 05:05 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
Is a big difference between your tank waters pH of 8.0 and tapwater with pH 6.0.
Wonder what it is in the tank that is buffering the water to see the pH of 8.0 ?