diy co2 - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 01:09 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
diy co2

Hello!

I've got well water in my 5 gal hex, and it's hard as a rock. PH is usually 7.6 or higher. I've been running yeast/sugar co2 to intake of filter, and allowing it to run over night. did a ph test again last night, and ph was down in low 6's. too much co2 in the water? i KNOW none of the solution leaked in. i was starting to worry if the co2 was even making it into the water, but due to the ph swing, some is, right? advice welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 04:50 PM Thread Starter

also, i'm a newbie and need someone to clear something up for me...how do you check the amount of co2 in your water? i've got the cart before the horse on this one...i should have known how to do that before i started adding...too eager i guess...
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 05:21 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

c02 shouldnt affect it that much, what kind of substrate are you using? If you are using multiple 2L bottles then you may have excess but how are the fish doing? Personally as long as the fish are fine then I dont think you can have 2 much. 7.6 isnt too bad either, in ontario under the great limestone sheild we are cursed with 8.1 + and i havent have that that much problem with plants. However, hatching eggs however is somewhat more difficult unless you have third or fourth generations accustomed to it.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 07:44 PM Thread Starter