PH Too Low For Co2? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-24-2008, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (70/100%)
Send a message via AIM to waterfaller1
PH Too Low For Co2?

Yesterday we were attempting to set up our CO2 from GLA. Ever since starting this new tank with amazonia & using RO water, the PH has been very low. It is now at 6.4. I am new to using CO2.I am confused now. Do I need to use treated tapwater, or 1/2 RO so my PH will be higher so that I can use the CO2? Should I use the RO with the Seachem Stability to add back certain needed elements? Or are they needed? I have some, but have not used it yet. Is Stability safe with shrimp? How many factors affect PH? Temperature, food, bioload, oxygen ?
Also, I notice when people speak of their GH and KH, they speak in low numbers like 4-5 etc. I have a GH/KH test kit by API, but the numbers according to the chart when I tested were KH 107.4 & GH 89.5. How do I translate these numbers? I am an artist not a scientist...help..lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-24-2008, 12:06 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
To convert from PPM to degrees, divide by 17.86. So you have KH of 6 and DH of 5.

Exactly how long have you been set up with aquasoil? I have no experience with it personally but from what I've read, there's a big pH drop initially but with water changes, it goes away. It may be too early for CO2.

http://www.barrreport.com/general-pl...h-affects.html

Seachem Stability is a bacteria cycling product and does not effect these parameters. What is the PH of your tap? Some reading material for you:

http://www.drhelm.com/aquarium/chemistry.html
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-24-2008, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru