New Pressure CO2 Installation - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-16-2014, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New Pressure CO2 Installation

I recently added pressurized CO2 to my heavily planted and heavily populated 90g. I have started it out very slowly, (I believe,) at 2.5 bubbles/sec.

The PH before adding the CO2 was 7.1 and is now sitting at 6.9 and holding, according to the PH controller. The oxygen level is 10 mg/L (ppm), the same as before the CO2. The fish are fine and I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly the plants responded to the extra CO2.

I am new at pressure CO2, and am looking for some guidelines on how frequently and how far to increase the bubble count. I am running the regulator at 30 lb. I am looking for a CO2 level that will provide the most lush plant growth without stressing the fish at all.

.... Phil

Last edited by Phil G; 06-16-2014 at 10:16 PM. Reason: text change
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-17-2014, 01:38 AM

PTrader: (3/100%)
In general, a pH drop of about 1 unit will result in ~30 ppm of CO2.

You can set your pH controller to slowly decrease the pH (over the course of say 1 week) via CO2 injection. During this time, watch your fish for any signs of stress and dial back the CO2 if required.

As an aside, oxygen levels will not be affected by CO2 injection. On another note, how are you measuring oxygen levels?

Finally, while bubble rate is quite a subjective measure and differs from person to person, 2.5 bubbles/second for a 90 gallon aquarium is likely too low to provide sufficient CO2 to your plants.

Anthony

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.