some fert questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-21-2008, 08:20 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
some fert questions

I am brand new at planted tanks so please bare with me. I just have a few questions about dosing ferts.

1. I have decided to use the PMDD method. Does anyone know if I can I add PO4 to the mixture or do I dose PO4 on it's own?

2. Do the ferts in liquid form need to be refrigerated?

3. I am not really sure how start dosing. Should I dose at half of the
recommended amounts of trace/macro/micro. and slowly increase the amounts if no problems arise? or should I just jump in? Which is better for the fish/plants?

4. I think I have what I need for lighting and CO2. Most of my plants seem very heathly (to me at least) but some are starting to show signs of nutrient deficiencies. My tank is moderatly stocked with fish and I have noticed over the last several weeks that the plants seemed to get everthing they needed from the fish. But as the plants grew and spread my nitrate levels dropped lower and lower. Now there are no nitrates at all. I want to allow the plants to continue to spread slowly so I am adding ferts. Am I right to add ferts? or will adding more fish and over feeding fish a better option for plant growth?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-21-2008, 12:19 PM
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (96/100%)
Not sure about the PMDD method. I believe that was one of the original dosing methods developed and not many people use that regime, but to each his own.

As far as your plants getting what they need from the fish... that is not 100% correct. They may get some nitrates from the biological cycle, and they my even get small amounts of phophates from the food, but trace elements and potassium are the missing elements that are not present in most natural things in an aquarium without intervention.